“Tyger, Tyger, Burning Bright…

Through the forests of the night,

What immortal hand or eye

Could frame thy fearful symmetry?”

There’s a little William Blake (thanks Bob!) for you.  As Blake was an Englishman from long ago, the poem works better if you pronounce “eye” like Groundskeeper Willie, as in “Argh!  Git the Bushmills, I splashed haggis in me eeee ‘n aye mate bee blind!”.

DSC00797

One of my first stops upon arriving in Chiang Mai was Tiger Kingdom.  It was awesome! The tigers here are free range, no chains, and have big cages to wander around in with their friends.  At Tiger Kingdom, the tigers are divided by size, and you buy tickets according to which size tigers you would like to frolick with.

DSC00756

There are smallest tigers, small tigers, medium tigers, and large tigers.  You can buy a ticket to visit with just one size, all four sizes, or any combination of the four sizes.  I bought the small and large package for 840 Baht, which is about $30, and I got 15 minutes in a caged in area about as big as my back yard (come over sometime if you need a reference point) with small tigers and another 15 minutes in a different cage with large tigers.

DSC00757 DSC00760

The only thing between you and certain death is three guys who each have a ten-inch bamboo stick about as thick as your ring finger.  These guys tap the tigers on the nose when they (the tigers) are doing something inappropriate like growling or misbehaving in some way.

This is how you enter the tiger petting area.  See that stick?  That’s what kept me safe.  Suck it, Death!!!

DSC00774

Before going into these cages you are given an informational talk, and what I learned is that tigers sleep during the day and are active at night, so that is why they are just lazing about as the visitors come through.  These tigers also don’t mind being petted and stroked because they have grown up with people always doing that to them.  It’s also important to pet them firmly, the harder the better, because they may mistake light touches for flies or mosquitoes.

DSC00762 DSC00763

The small tigers are about 3-4 feet long and must weigh a couple of hundred pounds.  The large tigers are about 5-6 feet long and weigh hundreds of pounds.  It was cool to hear these big guys (actually, ladies) purring as I rubbed their bellies and lay on top of them.

DSC00766 DSC00767

DSC00778 DSC00782 DSC00783 DSC00784 DSC00785 DSC00786 DSC00788 DSC00790 DSC00791 DSC00796  DSC00799 DSC00801 DSC00804 DSC00805 DSC00806 DSC00807 DSC00808

DSC00770

For the full effect check this out:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gGjU_9XTbfc

DSC00777

Glamour Shot:

DSC00817

This was my new friend when I left.

DSC00820

About joel47

I am taking a sabbatical from teaching in CT, where I have taught high school English for 14 years and part-time college for 5 years. Over the past few summers I have done nerdy teacher things like take classes at the Folger Shakespeare Institute and Cambridge University. I have travelled to 30+ countries, been to 38 Springsteen concerts, and own 25 acres of land in Texas. I believe that social media and cell phones are destroying our ability to effectively communicate, and that reality TV quickly turns minds into useless blobs of goo. I am also well prepared for the coming Zombie Apocalypse.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to “Tyger, Tyger, Burning Bright…

  1. Bob says:

    William Blake, dude.

  2. Bob says:

    So what do they feel like? You should have taken a shot with your head next to his paw. These are my favorite shots yet, even more than the Sheila’s.

    • joel47 says:

      That paw was no lie as big as my head. The handlers don’t let you get close to the face and paws because the tigers think that means you want to play. These tigers were wet because they had just been hosed down to cool them off, but their hair is rough and a coarse if you rub against it, but pretty smooth when you pet along it. I like these pictures, too.

  3. Miz says:

    OK … it’s close between this and the bar of bourbons … but this is the new #1. Awesome. If you toss in a short people safari before you’re done this trip is epic beyond all epochs.

  4. Linda Schmaelzle says:

    And what drugs do they give these cats to make them purrable? Catnip? Are they like leopards whose spots are on the fur and skin below….beautiful animals…..

    • joel47 says:

      It’s more like a hum than a purr, but from what I read about this place and what the lady who runs the hostel where I stayed told me there are no drugs involved. I don’t know for sure if there skin is colored but I think the pattern is just on the fur. They really are beautiful!

  5. Sammy says:

    You better not show those pictures to your two cats in Manchester. They will expect the same treatment .

  6. Laura and Braylen says:

    I’m not exactly sure what was going on between u and that lion but I think the guy should hav come around with the bamboo stick and tapped both of your noses 😁

  7. Jim O'Brien says:

    Holy crap Joel… Seriously… Holy crap. Those cats are amazing.

    • joel47 says:

      Yes, hanging out with tigers was one of my favorites so far. Too bad you have to go to Thailand for it, I don’t think the USA would allow it!

  8. tater says:

    Awesome stuff…. Went to your back yard for a reference point and your sister bashed me in the head with a 2X4. Thanks for the invite!

  9. tater says:

    After I watch your clips on youtube, I check out some of the other clips that are listed on the side that are from other people related to your topic. I always end up way off the subject, but have found that I would like Patpong.

  10. Mary says:

    OMG-that is sooooooo amazing! I am so jealous. I’ve always loved tigers. I showed Mitnick and Sharmoot. Sharmoot hissed at the computer screen!

  11. Reynolds says:

    Considering the news here (March) is about a girl who was killed by a lion, I am glad you made it out of there in one piece! They say you never know…

Leave a comment